Rude Words

for readers and writers of erotic fiction

Author Interview with Alcamia Payne

Interview with Alcamia Payne

What was your childhood ambition?

To be a writer and inspire other people with words.

What ambitions do you still have?

To follow my dream and to just keep improving as a writer, penning stories which open people up emotionally, mentally and spiritually.  If one of my stories makes someone smile or inspires them to change or look at the world a bit differently, I’ll feel I’ve really achieved something!

How did you end up being an erotic writer?

I’ve always been a book worm, but I love challenging writing and being a bit rebellious and I also love the arena of human sexuality and learning what makes humans tick.  I was a romance writer, essayist and article writer and wrote on a huge variety of subjects from sciences to alternative medicine and sexuality, but for ages I couldn’t seem to find my way.  When I discovered erotica it made romance writing come alive for me and was like the missing link.  I got huge fulfillment and joy from it and always do.  Now, I can’t imagine not writing it.

What are the most important components that go into making  good erotic fiction?

You have to love it have a feel for it and not be embarrassed about expressing yourself.  It’s all about expression and finding your own unique style and voice.  Someone recently asked me do you think some people are born to be erotic writers?  I think to some extent you are and it’s a gift.  You certainly have to have a passion for it and be willing to learn and keep on learning.   When I write I feel like a candid observer and that bit of distance – so you can be objective helps.

And what aspects of your job do you enjoy the most?

All of it and that’s the truth.  I’m very imaginative so I love dreaming up ideas and then wrestling with the plot content, it’s such a challenge.  Writing is not an easy career but every part of it’s a thrill, even the structuring and finer points.

How do you like to relax when you’re not at work?

Loads of stuff.  I’m very into alternative medicine, I love doing astrology and Tarot, mooching around crystal shops, listening to music, going out, collecting books and travelling, shopping and meeting friends for coffee, theatre, opera, dancing and doing the Salsa.  I’m a regular girl……

What makes you cross?

Oh wow!  Soap box time.  Rude people and intolerance, lack of acceptance in all areas of life.

What subject do you know more about than anyone else?

Sex!  Whoops no. I didn’t mean that.  Actually, I reckon no one knows more about something than anyone else.  There’s always one person in the world who’s an authority and knows more.  I have a pretty good understanding though of metaphysics and medicine and I love literature and art so I guess I know a bit about that.

What’s the best present you’ve ever been given?

There isn’t simply one thing, but my favourite gifts to receive are books and on a deeper level the best gift I think I was born with, was my imagination.   That truly is a gift I’m thankful for.

Tell us something about yourself that would surprise us?

Despite writing erotica, I am the archetypal monogamous girl and never sleep around.  Yes I can be a saucy vamp, but I still believe in one good man.

Alcamia’s worke appears in…

Gay Love from Xcite Books

A Pinch of Snuff from Xcite Books

Penny Ink from Xcite Books

March 27, 2010 - Posted by | Author Interviews | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hope you don’t mind me sending this message but are you the author of ‘Alley cat’ published in Xcite books anthology ‘Tease Me’ ? If so, left a message on your page on Xcite praising it!! Really loved it and wanted to say how I admired your work. I write erotica myself as Alex Severn – have had a couple published in Xcite and various colections and Mags in UK and US. Fascinating that you are into Astrology and Tarot, I am a Runecaster and Numerologist myself, I’m psychic and use my gifts via Runes and numbers. Readngs are special for me, love the feeling it gives me and where it takes me so much!! Don’t expect a resonse here, imagine you are busdy woman but hope to read more of your work sometine! best wishes Alex

    Comment by Alex Severn | June 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

