Rude Words

for readers and writers of erotic fiction

Author interview with Z. Ferguson

Author interview with Z. Ferguson

What was your childhood ambition?
I first wanted to be a cartoonist for Warner Bros., then a DJ for KJR Seattle like my idol Pat O’Day, then a songwriter like Bob Dylan, and a storyteller like Mark Twain. There’s still time, isn’t there?

What ambitions do you still have?
Write and publish a few books of course, then set up a publishing house that
highlights new writers, like Dave Eggers wonderful work with McSweeneys and The Believer.

What was your first job?
I was a Caretaker at a City Playground during the summers. I picked up trash, unclogged toilets,whacked weeds and ran sprinklers. I saw what fun the Park Leaders were having with the kids, and changed to that.

How did you end up being an erotic writer?
A writing exercise in a classroom got hijacked by horny characters. By the time I finished the scenarios, I had filled five, bound, college-ruled notebooks. A writer has to be a good recycler, so I submitted some of the stories to Erotic Reader and Writers Association. The folks there really supported my work and helped me retool and refine my stories. Then I got paid for a submission…that was that.

What are the most important components that go into making good erotic fiction?
Characters you care about, characters that care about each other, sex that’s positive, fun and possible, seduction on every page using as many senses as possible, choreography, narrative and scene changes that are like a dance, dialogue that you wish you could have in real life, and an intricate knowledge of both human bodies, and above all read everything from lit to smut.

If you could have any celebrity pictured carrying one of your books who would you choose and why?

My main three: Helen Mirren, Susan Sarandon and Janeane Garofalo. Because they are my idea of sensual women, and they wouldn’t keep the book to themselves. I need publicity. Hmmm…and maybe Martha Stewart.

How do you like to relax when you’re not at work?
I cook for a living, so I write to relax. But within writing, I also write short stories for mainstream literary mags under a different name. Outside of writing? I garden, visit bookstores and art museums, shoot baskets and hang out at coffeehouses listening to conversations.

What makes you laugh?
30 Rock, Margaret Smith, AbFab, The Daily Show, Yogi Berra quotes, the comic strip Frazz, David Letterman, Bill Murray and of course Doonesbury.
These are a few of my giggly things…

What subject do you know more about than anyone else?
Looking For Work. I’ve revised so many resumes, gone on so many interviews, taken tests, auditions. Being a cook and a writer it seems you’re always on the hunt. Lately, though I’ve been working steady, so I can throw on the pile, insights on being a long-term employee. Can’t wait for the book to come out.

What’s the best present you’ve ever been given?
Gift of Friendship. I have a few friends that are like my Algonquin Roundtable. One of whom is the best new erotic writer out there. We get together from time to time and compare notes or just gab. Then there’s my critique group for the nonerotic work. I recommend every aspiring writer to join one. Priceless. When my book(s) come out, I fear my acknowledgements will be longer than the novels.

Latest story Misbehaving is in Xcite’s ebook, Sex On The Beach. Other work can be seen in the archives of Lucrezia, Cleansheets, Good Vibrations, Mainstream Erotica Contest, and in the Treasure Chest of ERWA. I’m working on a collection of erotic short stories entitled, Adventures in Vanilla, and I’m lobbying for a story in Bust magazine.

May 21, 2010 - Posted by | Author Interviews | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. “When my book(s) come out, I fear my acknowledgements will be longer than the novels.”

    I hear you! My acknowledgments threw off the page count. : )

    Comment by Jeremy Edwards | May 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

